Don’t Get Duped on Facebook

Keep private! if you let others know certain things about your Facebook account, you’re in danger of getting “duplicated.” A hacker will use your profile picture and information to create a duped account and send your existing friends new friend requests, which they’ll probably accept. Next, they’ll re-join whatever groups you’re in, which will probably approve them. Lastly, they’ll start spamming with posts sending unsuspecting users to malware sites which specialize in ID theft.

What makes you most desirable to dupers? A large friends list. DON’T LET ANYONE SEE YOUR FRIENDS LIST. It’s really nobody’s business, and hiding your friends will make you a less desirable target for the dupers.

Your privacy settings should look like this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.